Fast is Fine – Accuracy is Everything with Brian Zins @ Thunder Lakes Classroom/Range
Apr 4 @ 9:00 am – 4:30 pm




This is a one day course that prepares students to become better marksmen and provides a follow up workbook guide to train students even after the course! This is a comprehensive training program to achieve mastery of pistol marksmanship fundamentals. This class includes classroom, live and dry fire range time and a workbook to guide your training to complete mastery of the fundamentals. This course will cover aiming, stance, position and grip as well as recoil management and trigger control. This course has limited availability to ensure plenty of one on one time with each shooter.

This course is for individuals whom possess at minimum basic handgun knowledge and use.

Required Gear: Semi-Auto pistol or revolver, 300 rounds, holster, minimum of two magazines and eye and ear protection are required.

Brian Zins History Channel’s Top Shot

Beginner Handgun 1 & 2 – Ladies ONLY @ Thunder Lakes Classroom/Range
Apr 11 @ 8:00 am – 4:00 pm

Call today at 260-665-8133 today or stop in to get registered!

Beginner Handgun 1: ​ $95 per person. Ages 18+ unless accompanied by parent or legal guardian also taking the course. A 4 hour course designed for the new handgun owner or prospective handgun owner this course teaches safety in handling, storing and transporting the firearms as well as Equipment (Gun, Ammunition, holsters, purses, accessories), Proper Shooting techniques and more. There are three hours of class room work followed by the last hour shooting rimfire pistol on the range. There is no test. 50 rounds of CCI or Federal .22LR rimfire ammunition are needed. This is available for sale at the training site. You do not need a firearm as a rimfire pistol loaner will be provided should you indicate a need during your registration, however, it is best to bring your own firearm.

Beginner Handgun 2​: $95 per person. Ages 18+ unless accompanied by parent or legal guardian also taking the course. A 4 hour course picking up where Beginner Handgun 1 left off. A waiver of Beginner Handgun 1 may be given by our staff trainers in individual cases where it is appropriate. This course is a 4 hour range class working on shooting fundamentals done slowly and perfectly to include working from the holster, ball and dummy work, malfunction clearance and reloading while firing. There is no test. 100 rounds of centerfire ammunition needed along with your carry pistol. If you do not own a carry pistol we have a limited number of Glock 9mm loaner pistols with paddle style holsters, magazines and magazine pouches available for students. Arrangement must be made prior to the class date for this loaner gear.

Combined Beginner Hand Gun 1& 2 same day​: $175 per person. Ages 18+ unless accompanied by parent or legal guardian also taking the course. For the student who wishes to take both Beginner Handgun classes on the same day (AM and PM) we offer this package deal. A half hour break between classes will be given for lunch. You may wish to bring your lunch and eat on-site due to time constraints.

Indiana Department of Natural Resources Boater Education Class @ Thunder Lakes Classroom
May 16 @ 9:00 am – 3:00 pm

Students need to pre-register by going to https://www.register-ed.com/events/view/159348


Indiana Boater Education Courses will provide instruction in general information concerning boats and maintenance, what to do in emergencies, how to make your experience safe and enjoyable, and the laws pertaining to watercraft operation.

About the Class

Boater Education classes are offered by knowledgeable and dedicated volunteer instructors and Indiana Conservation Officers.

The Classroom Course must include a minimum of 6 hours of instruction. Most classes offered are 1 to 3 sessions. In order to be certified, students must attend the entire class including all sessions.

Age-Related Information

We do not prevent attendance based on age; however:

  • Any child under 11 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian every session.
  • At the first session, everyone under 18 years of age must give the instructor a signed, completed Liability Release Form (download, print, and sign). This form must have the parent or guardian’s signature.


Lunch will be provided by Dry Dock Marine Center and Lake James Association