Loading...
Classes 2018-11-20T11:09:18+00:00

We offer a variety of classes for beginners and experienced shooters. Taught by an NRA certified instructor, our classes cover firearm safety, handling, accuracy, and maintenance. All range fees are included in course pricing. Range Safety & Certification waiver fee ($10) & rental fees will apply if needed.

How To Prepare

If the course you’re taking involves range time, we invite you to watch our 9 minute safety video and review our Range Safety Certification & Waiver prior to your visit. When you arrive at Thunder Lakes, you will simply need to pay the one-time annual registration fee ($10). (This fee is waived for Annual Members.)

WATCH VIDEO & SIGN OUR WAIVER

Overview of Classes We Offer


Beginner Handgun Handling

For Beginners.  Ages 10+
For the brand new gun owner or soon to be gun owner. This course offers a very basic understanding of how a gun works. We discuss proper safe handling, beginner functions and parts, and how to properly store a firearm when not in use. This course includes a very general safety discussion about the three primary safety rules as well as the eight secondary safety rules. Approximate time of class is 2 hours. There is no test and no live fire portion. Personally owned firearms are not needed, instructor will bring all necessary items.
$65 per person


NRA Basic Pistol Shooting Course

For Beginners. Ages 14+
Introduces students to the knowledge, skills, and attitude necessary for owning and using a pistol safely. Students learn about pistol parts, operation, ammunition, gun safety, pistol shooting fundamentals, and pistol shooting activities. This course is great for beginners to moderate shooters alike. The class consist of a minimum 6 hours classroom and 2 hours live fire. Students are advised to bring a safe, operable handgun to class and will need 100 rounds of ammunition to use with it. Handguns are available to rent for a $10 fee if no pistol is owned. This class meets the Ohio requirements for application for concealed carry license.* A certificate will be issued after passing the course. (*Indiana does not require a certification to apply for a concealed carry permit.)
$135 per person


Personal Protection In the Home + Defensive shooting techniques

For Beginner & Intermediate Shooters. Ages 18+
Exposes students to several schools of thought regarding defensive shooting techniques. Designed to avoid giving students too much too fast, this course is a great introduction to using a firearm as a defensive tool. This course is best suited for knowledgeable beginners to intermediate shooters wanting to learn the real ins and outs of defensive shooting. Any of the previously mentioned safety courses would satisfy those requirements. A portion of this class is a Q&A session with a licensed attorney or state law enforcement expert on the legal ramifications of defensive shooting as well as the state’s views on use of lethal force. This alone is invaluable, and also a part of why the class fee is higher than others. This course requires approximately 8-10 hours of time total with 4 hours of live fire. Students should bring safe and operable pistols and must have a suitable holster to use as well as approximately 150 rounds of ammunition. After completion of the NRA portion of class we will transition to additional shooting drills including drawing from a holster and concealment techniques, as well as timed defensive shooting drills. This course satisfies both Ohio and Michigan requirements for application for concealed carry license.* A certificate is issued after passing the course.  (*Indiana does not require a certification to apply for a concealed carry permit.)
$200 per person


Advanced Defensive Shooting

For Intermediate and Experienced Shooters.  Ages 18+
Safety being the utmost concern, we expect students to show up to this course knowledgeable of firearm safety and capable of adhering to the safety rules. This course is 4 hours of all live fire range time. With a focus on transitioning targets, defensive shooting techniques, threat assessments, magazine changes during a threat, and many more. This course is conducted in our indoor range facility. Students must bring a firearm they are familiar with as well as a suitable holster for repeated use. Many students choose to bring additional gear such as over ankle boots and body armor but it is not required. Students are required to pass a pre-qualification or show proof of prior training.
$180 per person


AR15 Assembly Course

For Beginner, Intermediate and Experienced Shooters.  Ages 18+
Students are given all the materials needed to assemble their very own AR15 platform rifle to take home and keep. The course fee varies due to market fluctuations and availability of parts. Using our 2 decades of experience in the firearm industry we have partnered with the best manufacturers in the country to provide the highest quality parts necessary to take home a high end custom built rifle. We use only the best and you will be very satisfied with the end results. This course is a
non shooting course that consists of approximately 4 hours for full rifle assembly from raw parts. All tools and information will be provided.
Approx. $700 per person


Utah CCW Course

For Beginner, Intermediate and Experienced Shooters.  Ages 18+
Everything to get your Utah CCW to carry your firearm in 35 states is included in this class. You will be responsible to send the information to the state of Utah with $62 (filing fee) and within 60 days you will receive your Utah permit. This is a non-shooting course that consists of approximately 6 hours.
$115 per person


Refuse To Be A Victim®

Ages 12+
The Refuse To Be A Victim® program is not a firearms or self-defense class. It is a seminar that will help you improve personal safety strategies and will provide you with valuable information that you can apply in every area of your life. Refuse To Be A Victim® is a nationally recognized and accredited crime prevention seminar. The single most important step toward ensuring your own safety is having a personal safety strategy in place before you need it. NRA’s Refuse To Be A Victim® program teaches the tips and techniques you need to be alerted to dangerous situations and to avoid becoming a victim.
$5 per person or up to $30 per family


Advanced Instructor Courses

NRA Range Safety Officer

For Intermediate and Experienced Shooters. Ages 18+
The NRA Range Safety Officer (RSO) program was developed in response to the demand for a nationally recognized range safety officer certification. To become a NRA Range Safety Officer, you must pass the RSO course and demonstrate that you possess the knowledge, skills, and attitude essential to organizing, conducting, and supervising safe shooting activities and range operations.
$185 per person

Become an NRA Certified Instructor

For Experienced Shooters. Ages 21+
If you have interest in becoming an instructor yourself to teach some or all of the above courses. Our lead instructor is an NRA Training Counselor. NRA Training Counselors are tasked with the training and mentoring of NRA Certified Instructors. If you have interest in becoming an instructor yourself please contact us for more information.
$285 per person

Become a Member & Save